Login Register

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 2   [ 32 posts ]   Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Relics
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:00 pm 
Hello all, I have a very serious question and do not mean to put anyone's faith down, so please take it with a good intention.
I am studying and praying very hard now, towards Catholicism. One thing that was told to me by my cousin (who is in a cult) was about the head of a saint that was in Ireland. Then I read about various polish Catholics that are hoping that the heart of the Pope will be buried in Poland.
I then started doing research and found out about various body parts of saints that are in churches and venerated.
Am I the only one that finds that gruesome? Is this a common practice and could someone explain the reasoning/belief behind it?
I have to admit I would have a hard time worshipping at an altar that had a head in formeldahyde (sic?) on display.
I ask this in all honesty and it isn't anything that would keep me from joining...thank you for all of your responses...
Janet

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:21 pm 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master

Religion: Catholic
Church Affiliations: 4th Degree KofC
It is a common practice. It goes all the way back to at least the martyrdom of St. Polycarp, who was burned in about 155. After his death, his followers gathered his remains for veneration.

You might also find 2 Kings 13:21 helpful.

Need something to read?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:48 pm 

Here is a translation of the Martyrdom of Polycarp if you're interested.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:00 pm 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master

17:1 through 18:3 is the applicable passage.

Need something to read?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:57 pm 
Sons of Thunder
Sons of Thunder